How to join an Overwatch 2 match

While competing on the platform, we advise you to keep the FACEIT website open to avoid missing key notifications and match information.

Match rooms are created automatically on the FACEIT platform. This normally occurs as soon as a tournament starts and a bracket is created or, depending on the format of the event, when an opponent has been found.

Your FACEIT page will automatically go to your active match room. Alternatively, you can access your match room in the bottom left corner of the page. You can do this to access your previous recent match rooms, your ongoing matches and future scheduled match rooms that you will compete in.

Due to this process being automated, we strongly advise all players to keep their FACEIT match pages open throughout all the pre-game formalities. This ensures everyone is aware of the stage the match vetoes are at and how long they have to connect to the in-game lobby. This is to avoid players missing vital stages of the pre-game process as once started it cannot be paused.

Once the Match Room starts, there will be vetoes for server location, map selection as well as side selection. These can vary depending on the format of the event. Please check out our vetoes guide for a detailed overview as well as examples of how the process works.

Please ensure that your game is open before the veto finishes so that you receive the in-game invite to the match.

After the phase is over and all the required maps are selected, there will be a clear timer in the middle of the screen. This is the amount of time you have remaining to connect to the in-game lobby.

All players in the FACEIT match room will get an in-game invite to the lobby, this can be found at the top of the main menu screen in-game. Please note that if you have the Blizzard user “FACEIT” blocked, you will not receive invites. You will need to unblock them from the in-game “Social” tab to be able to receive invites. 

If you did not receive an invite or did not accept it in time, you can locate your in-game lobby by navigating to the “Custom Game” section of the in-game main menu. There you will see a “FACEIT” section and join your match by clicking on it.

Once all players are in, the lobby will automatically launch. 

If one or more players do not connect to the in-game lobby, the match will automatically cancel at the end of the timer or scores will be set depending on the event format.

If one or more players disconnect from the server mid-match, they may reconnect by going to the in-game main menu and navigating to the custom game section.

In the event of any issues or disputes, please use the “Contact Admin” button located in the middle of your match room. More info regarding disputes can be found here.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.